How long do I have to file workmans’ comp / workers’ comp in Illinois?
1.) The first hurdle for you is reporting the injury to your employer. You have 45 days to report your Illinois work injury to your employer. This means 45 days from when you knew, or should have known, about the connection between your injury and your job.
Obviously, this leaves the door cracked open, depending on your situation, for a good work comp attorney to assist you and figure out if there is still hope for your possible work injury case.
Note: For injuries resulting from radiological exposure, the injured worker must notify the employer ninety (90) days after he knows or suspects that he has received a high dose of radiation.
2.) The next hurdle is: How long do you have to file a workers’ compensation claim at the Illinois Workers’ Compensation Commission? The answer: 3 years from the date of your injury, OR 2 years from the last date of compensation, whichever is later.
Again, this leaves the door cracked open, for the statute of limitations to be extended beyond what some injured workers realize. It gets a bit more complicated than described, but that’s why you need to talk to an attorney for your specific situation.
The best advice I can give you is this: You should NEVER GIVE UP on a possible workmans’ comp claim UNTIL you talk to an experienced Illinois workers’ compensation attorney for a free consultation, and you should do this sooner rather than later. Attorney blogs, Google searches, and Alexa questions cannot provide you with the same level of analysis about your specific possible work injury claim as a live attorney. Work comp and personal injury attorney Peter Corti is one option for you at (312)-782-8372.